Muslim Prayers: Salah Timings, Azan and Rakti


Salah, which suggests ‘prayer’ or ‘prayer’, is also called prayer amongst non-Arab Muslims. Salah is without doubt one of the 5 pillars of Islam, which type the core beliefs and practices of the faith. There are 5 pillars:

  • Career of Religion (Shahada). There is no such thing as a god aside from Allah, and Prophet Muhammad (PBUH) is the messenger of God.
  • prayer (recommendation)
  • charity (zakat)
  • fasting (som)
  • pilgrimage (hajj)

Salah is compulsory for grownup Muslims and the prayer time is set in response to the motion of the solar and is carried out 5 instances a day as follows:

  • Fajr: Daybreak, earlier than dawn
  • Dhuhar: After midday, the solar passes by way of its highest level
  • Influence: Afternoon half
  • Maghrib: After sundown
  • Isha: Between sundown and midnight

prayer in mosque

Muslims can pray wherever. Nonetheless, many Muslims provide prayers in congregation at a mosque. Mosque is a spot of worship for Muslims. Praying collectively in a congregation helps Muslims to comprehend that each one humanity is every body are equal within the eyes of God.


Along with the 5 each day prayers, there’s a necessary Friday (Jumuah) prayer. This prayer is carried out in a congregation with a sermon rather than the afternoon prayer on Friday.

Aden: A Name to Prayer

The general public name for prayer is known as Aden. Azan is given by a muezzin from the mosque, who’s the designated particular person praying for the mosque. In the course of the invocation of prayer, the muezzin recites the next takbir (Glory to God) “Allahu Akbar”, which interprets as “Allah is nice”.

The total name of prayer is as follows:

Allahu Akbar (God is nice)
Ashdu ek la ilaha illallah (I testify that there isn’t a god however one god)
Asadu Anna Muhammadar Rasool Allah (I testify that Muhammad is the Messenger of God)
Hayya al-Sa’ Salah (Hurry to prayer, or rise up to wish)
Hayya al-Falah (Hurry to success, or Rise to salvation)
Assalatu Khairum-Minan-Naum (Prayer is healthier than sleep. It’s learn just for morning prayer.)
Allahu Akbar (God is nice)
La ilaha illallah (There is no such thing as a god however one god)

What’s the significance of Azan?

Azan is given 5 instances a day to ask Muslims to carry out the compulsory prayer. In nations with important Muslim populations it is not uncommon to listen to calls to prayer in public. The azan is normally recited from the minaret of mosques and is normally given dealing with the holy Kaaba in Mecca.

carry out wudhu earlier than prayer

Wudhu is the act of vasectomy or physique washing earlier than prayer or reciting the Holy Quran.

For a step-by-step information on do wudu, have a look right here.

Rakat in Salah

A rakat consists of the advisable actions and recitation of verses from the Holy Quran which can be practiced by Muslims whereas praying to Allah. It additionally refers to a unit of Islamic prayers.


Fajr prayer ought to be carried out on the finish of the night time and earlier than dawn. Fajr Salah consists of two compulsory rakat, often known as farad.


Dhuhr Salah is the second prayer of the day and is recited within the afternoon. This prayer consists of 4 compulsory rakat.


After the Duhr prayer, the Asr prayer is obtainable within the afternoon. This prayer consists of 4 compulsory rakat.


Maghrib prayer ought to be carried out at sundown. Maghrib Salah consists of three compulsory rak’ahs.


The fifth prayer of the day is Isha Salah. It consists of 4 compulsory rakat.

Together with these 5 compulsory prayers, there are different prayers as nicely:

Jumu’ah prayers (carried out within the afternoon on Fridays).
Tahajjud prayer (carried out within the early hours of the morning. Nonetheless, it isn’t necessary).
Taraweeh prayer (supplied together with Isha prayer and solely through the holy month of Ramadan).
Eid prayers (given on Eid al Fitr and Eid al Adha).

Advantages of various positions when doing Salah:

There are a selection of positions when providing prayers, together with Qiyam, Ruku, Sajda, and Tashshud. These actions have many advantages resembling:

  1. Qiyam (Standing): It ensures correct blood circulation to the decrease a part of the physique, strengthens the leg muscle groups.

  2. Ruku (Bending): This asana is sweet for the decrease a part of the backbone. It provides aid and prevents again ache. It entails stretching the elbows, wrists, knees and ankles, thus growing flexibility in all these areas of the physique.

  3. Sajdah (Sajdah): The act of bowing down or prostrate to God in the direction of the Qibla. Sajdah maintains blood circulation to the mind and stimulates the pituitary gland and the pineal gland.

  4. Tashhud (Sitting Pose): The asana is just like Vajrasana, an necessary yoga place. This place is alleged to strengthen the thigh and calf muscle groups, enhance digestion and hold the backbone straight and straight.

Supply hyperlink

Related Posts